Navigation and service

Circus at the Printers. Czech avant-garde // Showcase exhibition in the display vault of the German Museum of Books and Writing // German National Library in Leipzig // 6 February to 11 August 2019

In the fledgling Czechoslovakian Republic too, the 1920s were shaped by an international atmosphere of change and possibility, something which inspired artists and architects as much as it did publishers. Together, they worked on creating artistically sophisticated ‘books for all the senses’ and making them accessible to a wide audience.

Alongside cinema and cabaret, the circus served them as an important source of inspiration. Their original ideas were not limited to book covers, but also included the title pages, the typesetting, typography, publisher information and a plethora of new designs in colophons.

Implementing these books posed a great challenge for printers: “I wished that [Czech artist and publicist Karel Teige] could have seen the book... being produced. He would have seen such a circus at the Obzina printers as has never before been witnessed anywhere in the world. The typesetter ran to and from every type case in the entire typesetting department in order to keep up with the instructions of his manager. And there is no shortage of type cases there!” (Arthur Novák, Czech critic and bibliophile).

Arranged according to the artistic techniques and formats that were chosen for the respective cover design – from lino cuts, visual poems and purely typographical solutions through to photos and photo montages – this exhibition contains library books and magazines featuring artistically sophisticated designs and showcasing the ideas of the avant-garde through a unique blend of local traditions and influences from throughout Europe.

An exhibition of the German Museum of Books and Writing and the Saxon State and University Library Dresden to celebrate the 2019 Czech Year of Culture, in collaboration with the Prague Museum of Czech Literature and the guest country of the Czech Republic – Ministry of Culture of the Czech Republic, the Moravian Library and the Leipzig Book Fair.

Guided curator’s tours will take place at 10:00 on 22 March 2019 and at 16:00 on 23 March 2019.

You are also welcome to book group tours (for four persons or more). Just send an e-mail to dbsm-info@dnb.de.

Information and contact

Opening hours

Tuesday to Sunday and public holidays 10–18, Thursday 10–20,
closed Monday

Costs

Free admission

Contact

dbsm-info@dnb.de

Last update: 05.02.2019

This Page

Schriftbanner mit Deutscher Nationalbibliothek Leipzig, Frankfurt am Main

Navigation und Service

Zirkus in der Druckerei. Tschechische Avantgarde // Kabinettausstellung im Tresor des Deutschen Buch- und Schriftmuseums // Deutsche Nationalbibliothek in Leipzig // 6. Februar bis 11. August 2019

Die 1920er-Jahre waren auch in der jungen Tschechoslowakischen Republik von einer internationalen Aufbruchstimmung geprägt, die Künstlerinnen und Künstler und Architektinnen und Architekten ebenso inspirierte wie Verlegerinnen und Verleger. Gemeinsam wirkten sie daran, künstlerisch anspruchsvolle ‚Bücher für alle Sinne‘ zu schaffen und einem breiten Publikum zugänglich zu machen.

Der Zirkus diente ihnen neben Film und Varieté als wichtige Inspirationsquelle. Die originellen Einfälle beschränkten sich nicht auf den Umschlag, sondern dehnten sich über die Titelseiten auf den Satz, die Typografie, das Impressum und auf stets neu gestaltete Verlagszeichen aus.

Die Umsetzung der Bücher stellte für die Druckereien eine große Herausforderung dar: "Ich hätte [dem tschechischen Künstler und Publizisten Karel Teige] gewünscht, die Herstellung des Buches ... gesehen zu haben. Er hätte in der Druckerei von Obzina einen Zirkus gesehen wie kaum einen anderen auf der Welt. Der Setzer lief von Setzkasten zu Setzkasten durch die ganze Setzerei, um den Anweisungen des Anstifters nachzukommen. Und bei den Obzinas gibt es Setzkästen!" (Arthur Novák, tschechischer Kritiker, Bibliophile).

Gegliedert nach künstlerischen Techniken und Formaten, die für die Umschlaggestaltung gewählt wurden – von Linolschnitten über Bildgedichte und rein typografischen Lösungen bis hin zu Fotos bzw. Fotomontagen – zeigt die Ausstellung künstlerisch anspruchsvoll gestaltete Gebrauchsbücher und Zeitschriften, die die Ideen der Avantgarde in einer ganz eigenen Mischung aus lokalen Traditionen und europäischem Weitblick zeigen.

Ausstellung des Deutschen Buch- und Schriftmuseums und der Sächsischen Landesbibliothek – Staats- und Universitätsbibliothek Dresden, anlässlich des Tschechischen Kulturjahrs 2019, in Kooperation mit dem Museum der Tschechischen Literatur Prag und dem Gastland Tschechien – Kulturministerium der Tschechischen Republik, Mährische Landesbibliothek und Leipziger Buchmesse.

Kuratorenführungen finden am 22. März 2019 um 10 Uhr und am 23. März 2019 um 16 Uhr statt.

Gern können Sie auch Gruppenführungen (ab vier Personen) bei uns buchen. Schreiben Sie uns dazu einfach eine E-Mail an: dbsm-info@dnb.de.

Information und Kontakt

Öffnungszeiten

Dienstag bis Sonntag und an Feiertagen 10–18 Uhr, Donnerstag 10–20 Uhr,
Montag geschlossen

Kosten

Eintritt frei

Kontakt

dbsm-info@dnb.de

Letzte Änderung: 05.02.2019

Diese Seite

Schriftbanner mit Deutscher Nationalbibliothek Leipzig, Frankfurt am Main